Little Bessie and the History of March


IMG_0369

I’m listening to some late night 6music and looking back at five years worth of writing in and about March. Patterns emerge and there are constant threads, dreams and hopes. So as this year’s vernal equinox heralds another spring on Witchmountain I can see that March has traditionally been a bit of a monster as well as a thing of great excitement and optimism.Pick me up and shoot me down seems to be the constant refrain! This year I have been told by the estate that my long running fantasy of running a small business from the roadside building (see previous March posts) is “not viable” but today I have also been offered a greenhouse on Freecycle so it seems that the glass is neither half full nor half empty but precariously balanced in an uncomfortable limbo on the edge of the bar.

IMG_0372

Meanwhile I am becoming Charlotte Lucas from “Pride and Prejudice” . My little flock of bantam chicks now includes three new little people… one of whom I had to fashion corrective boots for as it had “spraddle” legs. I cut a bright pink sticking plaster up and made a kind of splint to hold its silly legs in the right position – it worked thank goodness, but the poor thing did spend a couple of days falling flat on its face like a drunk. So, there you are, the perfect Spring thing for Spring Equinox 2014.

IMG_0385

I’m still busy making all sorts of festival things including these feathery, flowery crowns and hair accessories. Some of the fabrics are from a bag of lovely print and dye samples my college friend Carl brought me when we met up earlier in the week. We spent a good few hours drinking green tea in Costa ( sorry but I’m a bit down on independant coffee shops in Northallerton at the moment…the feeling is mutual I’m sure), putting the world to rights and planning our belated takeover of the surface pattern design world….keep your eye on Fold Creative. , Carl is very talented and deserves a break.

IMG_0378

Lyndsay McBean was there too,taking a break from design work to be a mummy to her super cute baby Noah. I feel like an honorary granny, and even dusted off the old baby boot pattern to make him a pair out of a rather posh woolen throw that I’d accidentally felted in the wash! It’s been a good week for keeping in touch with old friends and meeting little new ones.

1891214_404072883063676_1816539242_n

So much to write about, but it’s nearly tomorrow and I need to test the apricot jam I just made ( with a hot buttered crumpet) before going to my nest to read and find another dream to replace this one. Oh, before I forget…an artist friend is doing something similar here in the North York Moors. Opening soon, the Lockton Tea Rooms and Gallery looks like it will be wonderful so if you get a chance to visit, pop in and say Hi to Janilaine and Kevin. Good luck with the new venture you two.

dsc00627

If anyone knows how Little Bessie did it please drop me a line … x

 

 

9 responses to “Little Bessie and the History of March

  1. nicolataylorphotographer

    No Witch Mountain cafe? Bah! And I was dying for a piece of that cyanite or cake.

    I came across this place in Keswick this week while trawling the internet for new stockists and thought of you.
    http://www.temporarymeasure.co.uk/content/6-cafe

    The blog was particularly entertaining and I could imagine you writing similarly amusing stories.

    • I know, I’m having a proper sulk but come for cake anyway! Yes Temporary measure is wonderful. Emma is lovely and very very funny…( if you look closely you might see me posing in a swimsuit in one of her “short story” cards !!! ( when I was a child obviously) x

  2. Don’t give up on your dream.

  3. Thank you for the Mention Kim. Always have such kind words. More catching up over a gallon of green tea and cake soon!!

  4. Lovely Spring notes. Just have to share that I’ve just finished a mixed media piece with a Wolf!! I’ll post it to your page when it’s done.

Leave a Reply

