Owls and Unicorns


September already.School term starts on Wednesday and it seems strange not to be thinking of going back to college.So I dug out some old pieces of embroidery whilst searching for inspiration. The fabric had been dyed using heather, strangely turning out this murky green rather than the amazing purple that covers the moors at the moment.I’ve been trying to take a picture while the heather is at its best, but the weather has been so gloomy and I’m not particularly fantastic at photography.Anyway it’s impossible to capture the way it feels to be completely surrounded by purple and green with the scent of honey in the air.

( Yorkshire Heather Honey as produced by Trevor Swales of Osmotherley, is the best in the world.Sadly this year many of his bees were struck down with a virus so stock up quick if you want some for your toast! Apparently it will be gold-dust this year…)

This unicorn is part of a design sheet I’ve been working on for Redhill Productions.I know I’m meant to be doing flat Illustrator work but I just couldn’t resist printing it out on to fabric and stitching into it a bit.As you can see from the owl above, I like to work with layers of print,appliqué and distressed fabric so I guess I’m just going to have to try harder to make my designs more commercial!

Reading :”Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas” Hunter S. Thompson

Listening to : The Police “Bring on the Night” !!

Leave a Reply

