“Don’t Go Chasing Polar Bears”


untitled-1

Some more old work from my portfolio today; because as usual my camera has run out of batteries, I really must get a set of re-chargeable ones…

This cat is an experimental sample on an old woolen blanket which came from a charity shop and is really lovely to work with, I’d love a big winter coat made from one. I think I dyed this piece using heather or elderberries, while the leaves and cat are digital prints from original watercolour sketches.

dsc00451

I had the words from Paul McCartney’s “Waterfalls” stuck in my head all day, for some reason it reminds me of watching TV at my Grandma’s house in Nunthorpe in about 1970-something!

Here in the present day I hear the Designer’s Market went well and there’ll be another in December. I missed this one so I’m going to make sure I get to the next. I’m trying to live up to the Buy Handmade pledge this Christmas so a trip to the Knitting and Stitching Show in Harrogate is also on my list later in the week.Talking of Christmas, the news today confirmed Trevor Swales predictions, earlier in this blog, that there will be a honey shortage this year. I’m going to have to seek out some of Trevor’s heather honey tomorrow before it all disappears.

dscf1264

Well, it’s not quite igloo weather here but there is a bit of winter forecast for later in the week- meanwhile it’s time to move the seasons on in the design world.My last twelve Fall/Winter designs got sent to the U.S. last week so now I have to start some for Spring which should brighten up some dull winter days.

My friend Jane has fineally got her website up and running thanks to Lynne at Bamboo Webdesign. Jane has just finished a commission for client in Westerdale who wanted two large canvasses depicting the gorgeous views from his house overlooking the moor.

Leave a Reply

