The Lonely and the Rum


dsc00598The snow came. The big red chicken sat on the gate looking like Captain Oats contemplating his fate… why didn’t she go in the nice warm shed? As usual I have failed to stock up on all essential supplies, ie: no cakes or chocolate.

Being snowed in means not having to go to work in the village so instead I can stay home by the stove and try to get some more designs done. I did some maths the other day though and felt a bit hopeless about it…I would be interested to know exactly how other freelancers manage. Does anyone actually make a living doing this?
dsc00601

I read late into the night on Sunday, “Moomintroll Midwinter” by Tove Jansson.I fell asleep dreaming slightly disturbed dreams about the “lonely and the rum”, until the snow storm woke me. Blinding lightning and crashing thunder in the whiteness.I know people who are terrified by Moomins and I can kind of understand why; there is a dark, mysterious atmosphere to the stories. In midwinter the sun never appears,strange creatures roam the valley and bonfires are lit to hurry on the spring.I loved it and the weather was perfect!

“There are such a lot of things that have no place in summer and autumn and spring.Everything that’s a little shy and a little rum. some kinds of night animals that nobody really believes in. They keep out of the way all the year. And then when everything’s quiet and white and the nights are long and most people are asleep-then they appear” (“Moomintroll Midwinter”)

2747319391_4d3f6f68ee

Anyway, its all wonderful and the illustrations are beautiful, so if you only know Moomins from the TV cartoon go and read the book (after midnight in a snowstorm is best!)

2748154658_55046239c4

2 responses to “The Lonely and the Rum

  1. That’s it! I’m inspired to get the book. I loved the Moomins on TV so the book can only be better.

  2. Hello, Lovely blog, I am also a major Moomins fan. Wonderful to see your work. Drop me a line and tell me your news, your distant cousin, Kate

Leave a Reply

