Thats just the way the cookie crumbles…


Here I am sitting on a bench at Mima, reading and thinking.What I have been thinking is “what’s it all about then, this thing called creativity?”,” Is it wrong to bare your soul on the internet?….Yes?….even if the information might be useful to others?” I have an ongoing “discussion” with friends and family about the nature of blogging/Facebook etc.; in other words , should you wear your heart on your sleeve or just post pretty pictures and maintain your privacy and the myths surrounding it?

It is almost 2 years since I left CCAD and as yet another group approaches the final hectic few weeks of their course I wonder how many of us have continued to try to live creatively,has anyone “made it” ? in the present economic climate, how many of us actually have jobs?!! I would love to hear any past or present student’s hopes,fears, dreams and …realities.( and wish this years group Good Luck)

So, today I managed to make some peanut butter biscuits, pick a few daffodils to brighten up the kitchen and order a couple of books designed to “re-ignite my creativity” (“The Heart and the Bottle”Oliver Jeffers; “The Creative License: Giving Yourself Permission to be the Artist You Truly Are”Danny Gregory;”Art Journals and Creative Healing: Restoring the Spirit Through Self-Expression”Sharon Soneff…..all sounds a bit cheesy doesn’t it!) I really hope something does because otherwise I will have to re-train as a baker ‘coz those cookies are the best thing I’ve done all week!

Now, I must go and try to reset my body clock which is malfunctioning to the extent that I think I may have some Sloth DNA, if I don’t sort it out soon I will start to grow moss. Happy April…hope you don’t get fooled :0)

6 responses to “Thats just the way the cookie crumbles…

  1. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog… I follow your blog and love what you do. I totally can relate to your post today. How much of ourselves do we expose? I dont know know you, but I dont think you have gone too far.. :–)
    Creativity , for me, is much like the seasons. I feel inspired to do different things at different times. I love what you do, mainly because I feel the love you have for it. You inspire me!!!!!!!!!

  2. I,m in total agreement of your first paragraph!! Wear you heart on your sleeve and let others open their palm to the world! keep up the good work! X

  3. Hi Kim you mentioned comments from past & present students, I was in your last college year, and have been following the blog love it.
    I am now working for myself.

    • kimsarahtillyer

      Hi Christine, Carl came to see me last week, he said “it was Christine Filmer Sankey who left that comment” ! Why didn’t you say?! Hope all is good with you and your business is doing well. Keep in touch xx

Leave a Reply

