“Sing Me To Sleep”


Here I am shivering by the stove as if it were still winter; frost and hail outside battering my newly emerging seedlings. Oh well,it doesn’t take much to keep me snuggled on my kitchen bench, I’m thinking I need a live-in personal trainer to make me do exercise…or at least keep me awake!

Here are some random doodles from my late night sketchbook, playing with the “Inktense” pencils I got for my birthday.

On Sunday I had a night in with 6Music and discovered this Gallery page linked to Guy Garvey’s show ; people send in artwork inspired by music played  that night. I love this idea because music is does have so much power to inspire and provoke emotion… I often wonder if there are people who get the same kind of “shiver down the spine” that you get from music by looking at a piece of art. Anyone?

Really, these computers are fantastic windows into the world, but they EAT YOUR TIME so I’m off to get inspired by some music ….or possibly just to make more coffee. Congratulations to all this years Textiles and Surface Design final year students who have just handed in their FMP’s, the degree show is at Hartlepool Gallery, Church Square from June 3rd-12th.

(Reading: “Taming The Black Dog” Patrick Ellverton Listening to: 6Music)

3 responses to ““Sing Me To Sleep”

  1. Ah yes, all the time. Glad to hear you are also a listener to the wonderful 6.

  2. Hi, I really enjoy your blog and especially your polar bears! I too suffer from depression and at the mo am feeling particularly low. Just wanted to recommend a book which I’ve read time and again called ‘Sunbathing in the Rain’ (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sunbathing-Rain-Cheerful-About-Depression/dp/0007232802) in case you wanted to give it a try. Be nice to yourself!

    • kimsarahtillyer

      Thanks Claire, I hope you feel the clouds lift soon. I really find it comforting and inspiring that almost total strangers and “virtual” friends can offer so much support simply by saying a few kind words.Very much appreciated.x

Leave a Reply

