“England has more shades of green..”


I’m loving the woods at Blow Gil at the moment, despite the ants! Everything is so fresh and green,scented with sticky pine sap, bluebells and warm earth. Tiny details like the seed heads of the mosses,spirally ferns and velvet new beech leaves make me want to draw and walk “bear”foot and soak up the sun.

Still the only “work” images I have to share are these details from freelance design for childrens wear.The one above shows hand embroidery and digital print from a  drawing you may recognise as my avatar for this blog…

I must get my printer sorted out so I have no excuse not to start working again.

This design was a simple repeat done using Illustrator and printed on to cotton using the inkjet printer.( Hey if you happen to be from Oilily or somewhere its copyright but give me a call!!)

Anyway, last night we all went down to CCAD in Middlesbrough to see some of the summer shows, including Foundation where Sara starts in September. Tonight is the opening of the BA Textiles and Surface Design degree show in Hartlepool; I can’t go because I’m at work but hope to get there later in the week to see all the fantastic work. Good luck everyone!!

Listening to: “The Seldom Seen Kid” Elbow

One response to ““England has more shades of green..”

  1. Hi Kim…. your woods are lovely- as is your work. I havent forgotten about sending you a little something. Recently started massage therapy school, and I am trying to find my family/school/creative groove. xoxo Sandy

Leave a Reply

