Love,Light and Landscape.


I took this picture on Saturday in the Lake District.It looks so much like one of my dad’s watercolours that I had to share it with you. I’ve fallen in love with the Lakes lately and it doesn’t seem to matter that its usually raining and I’m usually worn out (and cursing) after slogging up a hill;the shifting light and curtains of mist,orange and green hillsides,grey and white sheep with red farmers marks,the smell of mud and autumn leaves…

This picture shows Cat Bells (on the left) and the Newlands Valley from the top of Barrow(which was reached with the help of chilli stuffed olives and Starbars). If I wasn’t busy making T-shirts and baby slippers I’d be getting all inspired by the mountains and filling that sketchbook!

As it is I am still making these tiny slippers and worrying about the shortage of old cream wool blankets; the charity shops seem to be selling them all to people who use them for dog beds! No! So far I’ve sold one pair (above) and listed another on Etsy. Fingers crossed ,as usual, that they don’t just get lost in the crowd of handmade loveliness that is Etsy.

One of my favorite blogs for advice and inspiration is Olive Bites. The reason I love it so much is that Cat is not only funny and informative but a great supporter of other artists and creative people. Last week I read this post about the photographer Frances Melhop and how she was attempting to fund a project with the help of Kickstarter. Have a look , its a great idea, especially in the present economic climate where arts funding is being cut all over the place.I am more determined than ever to make sure I support small businesses and craftspeople this Christmas and for some reason I’ve been humming this song, which we used to sing at primary school( way back when petrol came in gallons and there were only 3 TV channels!) to myself :

Love is something if you give it away
Give it away, give it away
Love is something if you give it away
You end up having more

It's just like a magic penny
Hold it tight & you won't have any
Lend it, spend it & you'll have so many
They'll roll all over the floor, for

Love is something if you give it away
Give it away, give it away
Love is something if you give it away
You end up having more

It isn't how much money you give
But how much love that you give with it
So give what you can and you'll get love
Now everybody sing!....


One response to “Love,Light and Landscape.

  1. agree about supporting designer makers Kim, am also thinking I must avoid the big high street shops and get everyone something ‘special’ and hand made, which reminds me I want one of your T’ shirts for my littlest relative x

Leave a Reply

