Fields of Diamonds


Today I woke up at 5.30 am for no apparent reason. I’d like to think it was because the rare event of a lunar eclipse on the winter solstice was starting at almost that exact moment! Sara and I walked along the thick ice of the frozen road this morning so she could get a lift to town, we saw the fields turn Turkish Delight pink as the sun rose. The ice has started to look like a permanent feature and I must admit I’m starting to despair. Still, last night the light of the full moon was so beautiful on the snow, making it look like everything was covered in diamonds, that I had to drag the kids outside in their pyjamas to marvel at it all!

I noticed that Karen has finished AND posted her lovely Sketchbook Project book! I panicked a bit realising it has to be posted by January the 15th and at this rate I’m going to have to WALK to the post office anyway so I’d better crack on. These two pages are made using an old sketchbook page which I photocopied and stitched in to and a slightly smudgy Gocco print, again with stitching. Yes, still bears, always bears!

Well, I’m about to have a coffee,maybe a mince pie,turn the music up loud since I have the house to myself and try to do some drawing. Wishing I could paint the amazing light outside and hoping the postman brings my Christmas shopping.

Happy Midwinter to you all, the nights will get shorter from now on and it’ll be Spring before we know it..really it will…it will won’t it?

Listening To: Eddie Vedder “In To The Wild” Reading: “Birdsong” Sebastian Faulks

3 responses to “Fields of Diamonds

  1. How wonderful .. you got to see the eclipse. We are dreary clouds clouds clouds… I lived many years in Alaska. The first years of our marriage – on 63 acres out of Fairbanks in a little cottage .. with an outhouse. One thing that is good about getting up in the night to go to the potty … sometimes the northern lights would be out so spectacularly! And at 40 below 0 they are almost mystical.. they crackle and hum. We would night ski under the full moon.. soooo gorgeous. It made warming up by the fire even more cozy.

    Enjoy your beautiful day~

  2. i’d hoped to see the eclipse but my drunken coma made the old alarm clock pointless. Sure it was extra pretty on the mountain.

    • Lisa, I love your little tales of Alaska, I would really love to go there one day. Fairbanks…that is where the Magic Bus in “In To The Wild” was from I think. Unfortunately I only saw the sun rise even though I was up so early and it was clear as a bell… I forgot it was happening!
      jjv, shame on you drinking on a Monday, nice to hear from you again, its been a while x

Leave a Reply

