Rare Days and Temporary Measures


Near the top of High Stile, with Scafell Pike in the far distance ( I think)

The Easter holidays are drawing to a close. Within a week the hedgerows have sprung into full bloom; bluebells and violets replacing the brash yellow of daffodils, forget-me-knots and red campion fighting to rise above the fast growing grass verges.The swallows are back and cuckoos now join the curlew in the daily symphony of garden sounds ( these also include croaky transsexual chickens, whinging gardeners, coughing lawnmowers and occassional gunfire from the neighbours).

Castlerigg Stone Circle, Keswick (with Blencathra behind)

I had another magical trip to the Lakes last week,where I was taken ( cursing and fearful) to the top of High Stile and Red Pike .This had to be the best view yet with distant peaks still showing patches of snow. The weather was unbelievable, so clear you could see the Isle of Man. Standing in a country lane dressed in a pink wetsuit, life jacket and bicycle helmet was a little less poetic but “gill scrambling” was such good fun it made up for the indignity! ( This picture isn’t me but it gives you an idea…)

So, the holidays have been blissful and my birthday this last weekend was made extra special by the sunshine and my wonderful family and friends. Guess what! My old rusty Mac was magically transformed into a beautiful sleek MacBook by my brother who pretended to be “updating” some running system or other. I’m a very lucky little old lady and must now try extra hard to make some pennies out of these birds and bears.

Bird necklace with vintage key on a hand painted notice board

My new favorite is the little Air Mail bird below, in red white and blue, a perfect way to send a bit of love to someone in a distant land…

I haven’t re-stocked my Etsy shop lately but  I will be soon, now that uploading pictures is less painful!Oh… I almost forgot!! Two wonderful places you MUST visit if you’re ever in Keswick, first the Lakeland Pedlar for a veggie sausage ciabatta and secondly Temporary Measure which is a treasure of a shop and tea room full of handmade loveliness,mother of pearl buttons and soft as a cloud balls of wool as well as canvasses made by illustrator and writer Emma- take a look at her blog and you’ll see why I love it!  Much love to you all and thank you for reading. xx

2 responses to “Rare Days and Temporary Measures

  1. A beautiful read to start the day, thank you Kim. I love your Airmail bird. : )

  2. you are too kind, thank you x

Leave a Reply

