Dancing in The Rain


 

Part of my display in the cabinets at Golden Brown Coffee

I’m sitting in a steamed up kitchen on Midsummer’s Day, cooking beetroot and considering lighting the stove.Heavy rain is battering the windows from a flat grey sky ~ Happy Summer Solstice ! Its been a busy few days with lots of exciting events. Sunday was the opening of the new gallery at Golden Brown Coffee in Darlington. Jane, David and I have been rushing about getting things framed and agonising over pricing, artist statements and picture hooks.

To my shame I can’t remember the name of the other two artists taking part (I will find out I promise) but all together there are five of us in the fantastic purpose built space above the  coffee shop. Sunday was very quiet unfortunately, I think we could have done with more publicity,but we had a lovely time eating delicious toasted sandwiches and alot of coffee, watching the insanely heavy rain turn the street into a canal. Who needs the Venice Biennale !

Pink champagne was available as well as coffee

David and I were feeling a little fuzzy having been at the Willowman Festival the previous two nights dancing in the pouring rain to Alabama3, System7 and Here &Now. I did a quick change from heels to wellies as we headed straight from the gallery back to the fields .The festival was only a few miles from home so I didn’t camp, but if I did I would love it to be in a lovely bell tent like Lisa Igo‘s. This great little mobile children’s book shop/story corner/arts club  visits festivals and is a beautiful cosy space full of bright cushions, rugs and BOOKS. I do really love festivals and always come away feeling inspired and hopeful that there are alternative ways to live , to be creative and to see kids freed from their electronic devices!

Lisa Igo’s “Eco Arts”  Bell Tent

Sara and I also treated ourselves to a fishy pedicure at the festival ( partly to get out of the rain) which was weird but actually really nice ( and very effective) The lovely San told us she would be at WOMAD so we’ll definitely be going back for another go!

Don’t forget the GIVEAWAY closes at midnight tonight…x

2 responses to “Dancing in The Rain

  1. Your exhibition looks great. It was lovely to chat in the bell tent. X

  2. jackiemorrisartist

    mmmmmmm….. bears… lovely.

Leave a Reply

