Boris and the Queen of the Night


“I have become my own version of an optimist. If I can’t make it through one door, I’ll go through another door – or I’ll make a door. Something terrific will come no matter how dark the present. “
Rabindranath Tagore

I’m not normally a fan of motivational quotes but this one has been pinned up at work for a while now and I’ve been thinking about it alot as I peel butternut squash and de-seed chillies at the Vine House Cafe. Tagore’s words and the beautiful double rainbow that appeared over Witchmountain yesterday seemed like a good way to start this post -as I write on this particular day in September. I’ve been thinking about love and friendship and what fragile little beings we are; yet with the capacity and frequent desire to cause such pain and unhappiness by word or actions. Anyway, on a personal level I’m fighting to remain an optimist, cutting out some dead wood and making some new doors- probably out of wool and newspaper cuttings…

The light yesterday as the storm came was amazing and I raced around the garden getting soaked, peering into the flowerbeds and exclaiming at the wonderfulness of it all . These poppies look as though they are lit by the camera flash but it was the sunlight as it gave way to the curtain of rain that eventually sent me indoors for coffee and homemade cookies.

Mrs Pepperpot lost in the AtoZ ( Stanford’s Bookshop)

Last week saw me exploring the streets of London as a planned trip to the mountains with Rupert had to be rearranged ( rain stopped play ). I don’t think I’ve ever visited so many museums in such a short space of time, I am a foot shorter due to all the walking and bursting with information overload! As usual I wish I could have sat and drawn what I saw … even the gruesome exhibits in the Huntarian which made me feel a little dizzy. The Sir John Soanne was a highlight and then of course the British Museum where I found this wonderful person who also seems to be fond of owls ….

The Queen of the Night 

Goodness, there was so much to look at and after a huge walk to Tate Britain to see the Romantics exhibition I was ready to collapse. Hurray for “Boris Bikes” which Rupert had been desperate to try; we sped across the city breaking various bylaws, scattering Covent Garden shoppers, dodging black cabs and big red buses, and were back at Smithfield in no time ! I thoroughly recommend it.

Detail of large multi -media framed work

Now, home on the mountain and fueled with coffee, its time to find a way to sell some of these framed pictures that are blocking the hall and make some more baby slippers… x

Polar Bear ( detail) and Kesinee Stephenson’s new elf slippers
2 responses to “Boris and the Queen of the Night

  1. Hey Mrs Pepperpot, hope that the cutting of the dead wood leaves space and air for new growth………….that you can go into Autumn positive and hopeful and that great things will happen, new doors, new contacts, new excitement and inspiration! “Live in the Sunshine” Ralph Waldo Emerson x x

  2. I just discovered your blog, it’s lovely here and I’veenjoyed browsing!

Leave a Reply

