“…splendor in the grass, glory in the flower.”


The mind that is wise mourns less for what age takes away; than what it leaves behind
William Wordsworth

Notes on reaching mid-life ( if I live to be 90) :- My birthday this year was very special as I was whisked away in a hired camper van to spend three days in the lovely Lake District. We found some sneaky places to park for the night; places with views that money could not buy and better still…the sun shone! In fact the sun shone in a theatrical way; so that, on discovering a beautiful clearing by a stream it would burst through the clouds with a flourish and highlight the perfectness of the spot. Reaching the summit of Rannerdale Knotts or the Lion and the Lamb the sun would rake across the the craggy rocks and illuminate the velvet brown slopes in the distance, while I caught my breath and was fed a handful of nuts and raisins to “keep your strength up”!

As I sit in my kitchen, feeling sentimental, post holiday blues I can’t decide which moments were the most magical…the heavy scent of Bluebells and the heady coconut of Gorse in Rannerdale, the pair of Buzzards near Lancrigg,waking up at Blea Tarn where a pair of Chaffinches kept us company or walking through mossy woods, full of birdsong and pine cones. I could write for hours but I don’t want to bore you with my holiday snaps, I expect you’re wondering who won the Giveaway…

Well, I picked a winner just now and the lucky person who will receive a big parcel of gifts, including my one and only copy of the Blurb notebook is… Deb Beattie…THANK YOU for all the comments and link sharing everyone. If you send me your address Deb, I will go hotfoot, to the Post Office before the price of stamps goes up. Hurrah for Great Britain and the double dip recession!

Just had to show you this treasure trove of a secret art shop in the back of the Heaton Cooper Studio in Grasmere. I was quite lost in there, feeling textured papers and lusting after sketchbooks and paintbrushes. There was a case of pastels that came in wooden boxes, in sets of 6 ,and cost more than I earn in a week; so beautiful and almost edible…you’d have to be a very good artist to dare use them and never never leave them near small children! I feel inspired to draw, as I always am after spending time in the Lakes, despite the fact that landscape is not my forte.

I also managed to persuade Rupert to do the touristy thing and we “did” Dove Cottage. The smoke alarm went off just as we got there and I imagined the whole place burning to the ground as we stood there clutching our tickets, I’m afraid it made me giggle inappropriately. Its a dark and smoky place but beautiful none the less;if only there wasn’t a HUGE yellow sign saying “Tickets this Way” right smack bang in front of the door so taking a nice photograph was impossible.I also couldn’t stop thinking about Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon in “The Trip” ( more giggling) and realising that I don’t know any of Wordsworth’s poems – heathen!

Now I must go and dust the shelves in my various virtual shops and hope that some customers can be tempted inside ( This cushion is now on From the Wilde). Also, the lovely Vine House where I work , is now on Twitter so if you do the Twitter thing it would be lovely if you popped over to say hello.

10 responses to ““…splendor in the grass, glory in the flower.”

  1. I love The Lakes too… looks like you had a wondeful time. Wendy x

  2. Mmm, Grasmere… did you treat yourself to some gingerbread? It’s the best!

  3. I did! But its a present for my parents…I only had enough for one packet! I love it, and especially the blue and white packaging.

  4. Thank you, I can’t believe I won your competition. I have never won anything before, well if you don’t count the little wooden pig which was for the boys really.

    It looks like you had a lovely birthday treat. A camper van, the lakes and beautiful weather, what more could you ask for. 🙂 Oh and that fantastic art shop. I think I would have hot flushes and have to leave empty handed. That is what happens when I can’t have everything.

    Thank you thank you. I will e-mail you my address now.

  5. hello! your holidays pictures are lovely, glad the weather was nice and not the total washout we’ve now got. see you very soon xxxx

  6. Glorious! and your descriptions of your trip are inspiring! April is a wonderful month!

  7. gorgeous photo of you! how old did you turn 19? I wish my middle age photos looked like yours:) The pillow to incredible!!!
    xo
    katy

  8. Hello we have nominated your blog for the Liebster Blog Award as one of the blogs that brighten our day.
    To accept the award it says it would be nice if you could:
    1. Acknowledge the person that gave the award and link back to their blog.
    2. Copy and paste the award to your own site.
    (I cant get the jpeg to post here but its over on our site at the post about the award)
    3. Share five of your choice blogs to award and let them know by commenting on their blog.
    Good wishes from TheBigForest.

  9. Pingback: Blossom and Ice | WITCHMOUNTAIN

Leave a Reply

