The Fleetwith Pony and other stories


This time last week I was readjusting to the rural North after a long weekend of culture in the city. This week I am recovering from a short trip to the beautiful Lake District,which usually means aching legs but a happy heart and a longing to be able to paint landscapes.I spent quite a lot of Saturday in a car park waiting for Rupert to return with a new bicycle pump after he had accidentally let my tyres down…yes, I was strangely pleased and half hoping the shops would be closed. In the end the bike ride was wonderful; following the old railway track, lined with silver birch and passing Castlerigg Stone Circle which seemed to be hosting some sort of Eastern European camera club ( I felt self conscious getting my phone out surrounded by all those tripods and massive macro lenses). Autumn is definitely my favorite time to be in the Lakes and this weekend felt like a pastiche of everything Autumnal- the smell of woodsmoke and leaf mould, the shades of orange and brown, the splashes of red, the spicy chai lattes ,the long shadows.

We climbed Fleetwith Pike on Sunday with the intention of whizzing back down to the car on our bikes which we’d left at the top of Honister Pass. I once did this, many years ago, on a sponsored bike ride for Greenpeace and remembered having to walk down the hills as well as up them as the road is so steep…luckily for me Rupert had forgotten the keys to the bike lock!

The summit was breathtaking ( I was,quite literally without breath) with views that could make you burst into tears and try to write poetry. The air was delicious -once the ability to breathe returned. And so we made our way back down,on foot, past Dubs Hut which looks like a great place to spend a misty night with a few friends and a case of whiskey …or not!

Along the way we spotted a sheep, with a longer than normal tail, who turned out to be a tiny,lonely pony. I made the mistake of using my magical horse whispering powers and he trotted along beside us,about knee high, occasionally threatening to take a bite out of my arm.

And now I am home, the stove is lit, the shopping has been done and the rest of this week I will be sewing and printing and making. Some of these are already in my Etsy shop. and I’m looking forward to posting some parcels because I just got my new stamps from the English Stamp Co. and I’m keen to stamp everything in sight.

This is my latest cushion design; a patchwork of cyanotype monoprints with vintage ticking and blanket wool.I think its my favorite so far as it has so much going on, it could be a story pillow…what do you think the story is…?

Time to go now and sew it all together. Perhaps a little late night coffee and the treat of ” A Charles Paris Mystery” with Bill Nighy on the radio.

2 responses to “The Fleetwith Pony and other stories

  1. the photo of the pony is magical i expect it will grow a unicorn horn as it ages:)

Leave a Reply

