“it’s in the trees…..it’s coming!…..”


It is  early November and I’ve already been snowed in once; snow in October is a strange thing, with trees still in leaf and flowers in the garden.Snow on roses is a beautiful thing, but not for the roses.The blanket of white didn’t last long though and it made me determined to see some Autumn colour before it was too late. I’ve always loved the trees at Thorpe Perrow Arboretum and it was fun to shuffle about in the leaves, plan how to free the owls, decide that I would like a reindeer and say hello to remembered statues and blazing maples.

Its a good job I like trees because two days later I was at the strangest party I’ve ever been to (not counting the Mutoid Waste Company‘s New Year Warehouse party in 1986…when I was 6 obviously!!). The Motor House had been transformed into an eerie woodland with birds nests,real trees and a floor of dried leaves, which I am still finding in my hair.All very bohemian and fabulous.

Back on Witchmountain  I am contemplating the end of my bohemian lifestyle and the quiet solitude of my stove-side existence, as I enter a new and much delayed,phase of my life. Yes, I have been offered a full time, payed job that doesn’t include serving tea or pulling pints.

I’m excited and apprehensive but I start next week at the Joe Cornish Gallery …wish me luck!

I’m not giving up on my own work though; I’m hoping that I will feel less desperate to make money from it and therefore more likely to start selling a few things. The past four years have taught me more than I ever learnt at college and most of the lessons were very hard. I know hardly anyone who can live by their artwork alone and even as a freelance designer with an agent the amount of work needed to maintain a reasonable level of sales was almost impossible. I do feel strongly that we left college unprepared and with unrealistic expectations.

Tomorrow night I’ll be in Osmotherley with all my wares, including this new purse and some new cards which I’ll also be listing on Etsy soon. If you live nearby the Christmas Fair is in the village hall, Osmotherley from 7.30pm.

Just time for me to say, Congratulations Mr Obama ( because obviously he always reads this blog). Until next time x

4 responses to ““it’s in the trees…..it’s coming!…..”

  1. Congratulations on the job at the Joe Cornish Gallery! I’ll have to pop in and see you. I was in Stokesley just last week indulging in Costa, very naughty indeed!

    Have fun tomorrow night at Osmotherley, Miss Vicky Trainor will keep you company I am sure!

    Jane x

  2. Congratulations Kim. I hope it all goes well for you and you enjoy this new phase in your life.
    Best wishes
    Lynn x

  3. Aww, wishing you so much luck with your new job next week Kim! And I am positive that once that pressure of feeling that you’ve got to make money from your craft is relieved and you’re doing it just because it’s a passion, then things will magically turn around and before you know it you’ll be wondering why you’ve got a full time job! As one door closes …..

  4. Pingback: “Here’s to the ones that dream…” | WITCHMOUNTAIN

Leave a Reply

