Looking at the Big Skies


IMG_1188

Already the wild and windy moors are starting to hint at Autumn and I’m tucked up in my kitchen with the stove on and “Mother Earth” by Underworld teasing me from the radio “6mix”… its Friday night why aren’t you dancing? Well actually that’s one of the perks of living alone in the middle of nowhere… no one can see me or complain about the volume.

I have lots of exciting news to tell you since the last few tragic tales of woe. Firstly we returned to the Lakes to try and erase the memory of that awful bike ride. I’ve been reading “Rogue Herries” by Hugh Walpole and wanted to see what Stye Head ( Styhead?) was like in real life. Well it was wonderful and despite threats of hurricanes it was a perfect day … the kind of skies that remind me of theatre lighting; much more atmospheric than perfect blue days don’t you think. Here is Wasdale in the spotlight before we turned away and headed up to Sprinkling Tarn and the way down via Grains Gill ( ? ) .

IMG_1233

Back home on my own imaginary mountain I had been making some new cyanotypes on some gorgeous off cuts of thick handmade water colour paper that my dad gave me. The paper is so lovely that these will have to be framed carefully to make sure none of the texture and rough edges are lost behind mounts. I really enjoyed making these and like the odd, slightly dreamlike, unfinished white cottage; although part of me wants to do something else to them…stitch maybe…hmmm. My favourite is the one with the willow dome.

IMG_1216

And so, carried away with blue and the idea of home…

IMG_1217

…Until the sunshine and heat of July gave way to wet, grey August and premature thoughts of log stacks and winter nesting … or should that be hibernation?

IMG_1218

Anyway the main news is that I have done a slightly mad thing and got myself a stand at next April’s BCTF in Harrogate. I now have 7 months to panic and worry but at least I have something to aim for and I wish I’d done it years ago when I was less jaded and more optimistic! I have exactly no pennies to invest in product development but I’m going to take a risk, give it one more big chance before retraining as a plumber or drystone waller… I’m lucky to have some lovely friends who are full of good advice and experience so we’ll see what happens I guess.

IMG_1250People were very kind on Facebook and over 1,000 lovely people now follow my page which meant I gave away one of my needle felt bears. He jetted off to the USA last week leaving these two characters on the Etsy shop shelf.

il_570xN.644322479_ebc9

Now I really should turn this music down and head off up the apples and pears, I’m sure I’ve forgotten to tell you something; must write more often x

Reading: “Rogue Herries” Hugh Walpole  Listening To:   “Confessions of a Dancer”  Doorly and “Lily” Kate Bush …come on, who got me a ticket? Hey?

 

 

 

 

5 responses to “Looking at the Big Skies

  1. I’ve never met anyone who has read Rogue Herries before. I inherited the whole series of novels from my Mum and I love it. Good luck with the preparation for Harrogate. Very exciting! Jacqui x

  2. Hello, Lovely to see you back again and happier . I so love the Cyanotypes! And just like ‘gallo” ,you are the first person I have come across to read Hugh Walpole and love his Rogue Herries books, which I discovered many years ago now. I envy you just discovering them. It makes me want to re-read them . All the best .

    • Thanks Val.The funny thing about the book is that Rupert gave it to me because he’d loved it after reading it to his grandma when he was a child… I read with a sort of amazement that he could read this aloud to a grown up, it is a bit of a bodice ripper in parts!

  3. Indeed! re: bodice ripper , saucy ~ Rupert’s grandmother must have been a very liberated lady and Rupert must have been quite a precocious child (if he would not be offended by my saying that) What good taste he had in reading material, bit also very mature reading matter I think for a child . (smile) Loved reading this comment as well as the post!

Leave a Reply

