Late Bloomer


In January I had a plan, to make a cyanotype print every month using whatever was in flower or leaf, as well as other vague, grand ideas – to revive my sourdough baby, to walk a loop of the fields every day, to read/write more and scroll less, to do yoga before dinner and learn to speak Swedish. Honestly, this happens every year doesn’t it; not intentions as such but just that feeling of a clean new exercise book at the beginning of term as the year creaks into gear and everything is possible. Well now it’s April, the red hands of the Peony shoots are waving, buds are bursting and although I did catch some snowdrops with the blue magic, my starter is still neglected in the fridge and the only words I know in Swedish I learned when I was 10 (Hello and Horse). I have achieved some other things since I last wrote though, and this blog, more neglected than the sourdough, is something I don’t want to let go of. As someone who kept paper diaries for years I like the real time/first hand nature of it, the surprising things you learn about yourself and the patterns that emerge – even if its only written sporadically it’s something to check back on whenever I start gaslighting myself about things!

The barrel pond in March, with a snow topped Whiteside Fell.

We’ve been at Red How for 7 months now and for most of that time it has rained – but for some of the time it has been GLORIOUS! I made a barrel pond and found another, filled in with slate rubble in the wood and decided I’d do a long slow project on ponds for the Cumbria Printmakers exhibition at Ruskin’s home, Brantwood. Only I misread the deadlines and instead of three months there were only 4 weeks until finished images had to be submitted and selected. Panic stations! I decided I couldn’t face rejection so early in the year but kept working on the little collagraph plates I was making, learning along the way. Once I’d taken the pressure off myself I got totally immersed, combining collagraph and cyanotype, meeting all the deadlines almost by accident so that they are now happily hanging at beautiful Brantwood, in Cumbria Printmakers “Reflections on Water” exhibition. The opening day was perfection, we canoed from Coniston and feasted on blue skies, spring growth and friendship. One of those days I felt lucky and happy to be living in the Lakes.

prints in progress, the finished version of the one on the right
includes Latin water plant names in the lower section.

Since we moved I’ve noticed that my mood is generally a bit lighter, I’m not quite as bitter and battle scarred at least on the surface – choosing your own path is a wonderful thing. I walk around the house and garden with a kind of reverence and constant surprise to find myself here; something about never taking anywhere for granted, trying everyday to consciously balance my Hobbity urges to dig deep roots, with a gentle acceptance of the nature of Rental Life . It reminds me of the way I used to wander around my grandparent’s house in Glaisdale when I was little and everyone was outside, almost as if it was a museum or a stage set, making up stories and feeling like someone else – it wasn’t ‘home’ but it was something near and very much loved.

I had a wonderful time back “home” in Yorkshire in February. Before I left my Braithwaite studio and just after completing the cyanotype book I’d started working on a project for my friends at Rounton Coffee Roasters. Dave, his partner Tracey and I met over 10 years ago at a very bohemian party where the rooms had been made to look like woodland and friends arrived dressed as Ash Dieback amongst other things (I’d made a dress and mask themed on The Owl Service)! My old life, parties and music and a little misbehaviour. Anyway, it’s coming up to 10 years since I had to leave the moors and 10 years since Dave started his coffee roasting business so to be honest there was no way I was going to turn this project down even if there was no money in it ( Actually the company were very careful to make sure I charged a realistic industry standard rate for design work which was amazing as it’s no exaggeration to say that I’ve always undercharged for my work in the past). It was just what I needed to break the inertia after completing the book thing. I was commissioned to design the packaging for a limited edition, microlot coffee from Fazenda Pinhal in Brazil. The farm has won awards for its environmental work and sustainability and is also a sanctuary for illegally trafficked birds and wildlife. The whole project is part of Rounton’s commitment to 1% For the Planet and support for Yorkshire Wildlife Trust. So for a number of reasons the launch event felt hugely emotional and is something I’m really proud of.

Design for Rounton Coffee Roasters using original watercolour sketches and digital paintbrushes

It was lovely to turn up at my parent’s place with boxes of coffee and a copy of my actual book after years of being financially and practically propped up by them and their own travails in the Art World. Neither of these projects will make me rich (to date a combined total of just £1,600 which will shock/surprise you, more on this another time!) but I’m not sure I want to be rich, just secure and self sufficient. These small successes in print have been a long time coming and I’m trying to train myself to enjoy the unaccustomed feeling of achievement! I hope the art helps sell the coffee and I hope a few people buy my book and find it useful and inspiring… I’m 57 this month so it’s about time my buds popped into bloom!

A Beginner’s Guide to Cyanotype will be published on May 30th. I’m going to write another post (probably in about 5 years at this rate !) about the writing process and some of the projects included in it but for now the garden is calling me. The sun is out and it’s not raining- yet (rare and notable enough for our neighbours to send WhatsApp messages to our group chat this morning). There are lots of places you can pre-order the book, including my website and Sam Read Bookseller in Grasmere where I work, as well as any lovely bricks and mortar bookshop or online ones .

Thank you for reading this far, I’m off to grind some beans to drink with the last of the Easter eggs outside on the bench. x

Leave a comment